By Uche Dozie
Sports Writer, Nigeria.

Nigeria remains the greatest scrabble playing nation on earth after emerging champions at the WESPA championship.

The team were in rated after amassing many points to retain the title it won a year ago.

Team Nigeria had players like 2015 champion of the competition, Wellington Jighere, highest ranked Nigeria player, Eta Karo and African Champion, Moses Peter.

Others are Anthony Ikolo, Nsikak Etim, Dennis Ikekeregor, Oduwole Olatunde, Oshevire Avwenaghi, Quicken Ben, Enoch Nwali and Afolayan Bukunmi.

The team stayed strong to win championship despite some could not get to the final individually.

”The individual trophy eluded us team but the Best Team trophy is not negotiable” so says 14th time champion, Wellington Jighere.

The 2019 World English-Language Scrabble Players’ Association (WESPA) Championship took place in Goa, India which had over 350 players from 53 countries.

The government had come to their aid after what seem like the team may not feature at the tournament weeks before the tournament started.

Nigel Richards of New Zealand won the final in Goa beating Jesse Day 4-3 in the final.

He joins Nigeria’s, Wellington Jighere and Akshay Bhandarkar as winners of the Championship. Congratulations to Nigel, better luck next time Jesse.


Copyright © 2019

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites.