Nigerian forward Victor Osimhen

By Angu Lesley

Football Writer,

Popular French media outlets RFI and France 24 has named 21-year-old Nigerian forward Victor James Osimhen as the 2020 Marc Vivien Foe award.

Osimhen emerged winner from a list of 11 footballers who were shortlisted for the awards.

The former VFL Wolfsburg forward gathered 284 points way ahead runners-up Algerian Islam Slimani of Monaco who registered 95 points.

Osimhen is the second consecutive Lille player to win the Award, he becomes just the second Nigerian to win annual event organized in memory of Cameroonian great and former Olympique Lyonnais midfield maestro Marc Vivien Foe
of Blessed memory.

Last year another Lille forward from the Ivory Coast won the Award and before now Vincent Enyeama in 2014 was the only Nigerian winner.

The 11th edition of the event has registered Osimhen as the winner 2019 winner succeeding Nicolas Pepe now of Arsenal.

Osimhen was also named 2019-2020 Lille player of the year. had reported that Osimhen was favorite for the awards exclusively for African players.
The Nigerian had a dream debut campaign in France scoring 18 goals in 38 games across all competitions, 13 of them in 27 French Ligue 1 games.

According to the jury, the votes produced the following results:

1. Victor OSIMHEN (Nigeria/Lille LOSC) – 284 points

2. Islam SLIMANI (Algérie/AS Monaco) – 95 points

3. Yunis ABDELHAMID (Maroc/Stade de Reims) – 89 points

4. Habib DIALLO (Senegal/FC Metz) – 52 points

5. M’Baye NIANG (Senegal/Stade rennais) – 43 points

6. Idrissa GUEYE (Senegal/Paris SG) – 37 points

-. Hamari TRAORÉ (Mali/Stade Rennais) – 37 points

8. Denis BOUANGA (Gabon/AS Saint-Etienne) – 27 points

9. Edouard MENDY (Senegal/Stade rennais) – 24 points

10. Andy DELORT (Algeria/Montpellier HSC) – 13 points

11. Moses SIMON (Nigeria/FC Nantes) – 10 points

Foe is considered as one of the best midfielder that ever played in the French Ligue 1 championship.
He died at the Stade de France, while playing for Cameroon, during the 2003 FIFA Confederations Cup semi-final game against Colombia.

Previous winners of Marc-Vivien Foe Award and Year of success.

2009: Marouane Chamakh (Bordeaux / Morocco)
2010: Yao Gervinho (Lille / Côte d’Ivoire)
2011:Yao Gervinho (Lille / Côte d’Ivoire)
2012: Younès Belhanda (Montpellier / Morocco)
2013: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Saint-Etienne / Gabon)
2014: Vincent Enyeama (Lille / Nigeria)
2015: André Ayew (Marseille / Ghana)
2016: Sofiane Boufal (Lille / Morocco)
2017: Jean Mickaël Seri (Nice / Ivory Coast)
2018: Karl Toko-Ekambi (Angers SCO / Cameroon)
2019: Nicolas Pepe (Lille / Ivory Coast)
2020: Victor Osimhen (Lille/Nigeria)

Foe is also honored annually at Manchester City where he played before his demise.

Copyright 2020 ©

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcasted, written in full or in parts, without a written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites.