By Oyediji Oluwaseun Babatunde
Sports Writer, Nigeria

The last two (2) winners of Nigeria Women Premier League (NWPL) trade tackles in a Pre-Season friendly at Yakubu Gowon Stadium, Port Harcourt, Rivers State, on Wednesday, February 26, 2020.

The encounter between 2017-2018 and 2018-2019 NWPL Champions ended 2-1 in favour of Bayelsa Queens.
Super Falcons player, Evelyn Nwabuoku scored the first goal for Rivers Angels in the 35th minute but her strike was cancelled by two (2) second half goals from Joy Jerry in the 55th and 74th minute as Bayelsa Queens came from behind to get their revenge over Rivers Angels after losing the 2018-2019 Super 4 semi final on penalties to the eventual champions thanks to Chiamaka Nnadozie penalty saves.

Bayelsa Queens will kick off their 2019-2020 season when they host Dream Stars Ladies FC of Lagos in Group A at Samson Siasia Stadium, Yenegoa, while Rivers Angels in Group B will host another Lagos based side in FC Robo Queens at Yakubu Gowon Stadium, Port Harcourt.

Nigeria Women Premier League 2020
Week One Fixture
Group A


(A) Pelican Stars FC 🆚 Nasarawa Amazons FC (U.J Usuene Stadium, Calabar).

(B) Sunshine Queens FC 🆚 Confluence Queens FC (Ondo Sports Complex, Akure)

(C) Bayelsa Queens FC 🆚 DreamStars Ladies FC (Samson Siasia Stadium, Yenagoa)

(D) Abia Angels FC 🆚 Edo Queens FC (Umuahia Township Stadium, Umuahia)

Nigeria Women Premier League 2020
Week One Fixture
Group B

(A) Rivers Angels FC 🆚 FC Robo Queens (Yakubu Gowon Stadium, PortHarcourt)

(B) Ibom Angels FC 🆚 Heartland FC (Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo)

(C) Osun Babes FC 🆚 Adamawa Queens FC (Osogbo City Stadium, Osogbo)

(D) Royal Queens 🆚 Delta Queens (Warri Township Stadium, Warri)

Copyright © 2020

This site is not responsible for the contents displayed by external sites.