By Uche Dozie 

Sports Writer,

Ex-Super Eagles striker, Odion Jude Ighalo, Ese Brume and D’Tigress amongst others were winners at the 2019 Nigerian Sports Awards held at Eko Hostels and Suites on Friday.

Nigerian long jumper who won bronze at the World Athletics Championship in Doha, Ese Brume took the athletics star of the year and sports woman of the year awards emerging as the biggest winner of the night.

Odion Jude Ighalo was named footballer of the year after he emerged highest goal scorer at the AFCON qualifiers and the 2019 AFCON in Egypt.

D’ Tigress took the team of the year beating Nigeria U 19 Handball team and the Super Eagles to the award.

The individual sports person of the year award went to Making of Champions and weightlifter, Emmanuel Appah.

The Nigerian Sports Award is a yearly award to celebrate sport men and women, sport writers and sport administrators who have work hard in the year in view.

Other awardees are:
Sports Journalist of the year- Dare Kuti

Sports Photo Journalist of the year- Modo Victor

Discovery of the year- Folashade Lawal

Racket Sports Person of the year- Anuoluwapo Opeyori

Team Sports Person of the year- Farouk Yusuf

Wrestler of the year- Odunayo Adekuruoye

Para-Sports Person of the year- Bose Omolayo

Basketball Player of the year- Evelyn Akathor

Coach of the year- Christopher Nwadei

Sports Administrator of the year- Sam Ocheho.

Copyright © 2019

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites.