In the day two of the National open trial going on at the Moshood Abiola stadium in Abuja, one of the highlight of the day was Timothy Emeoghene’s shocker as he ran with a Personal Best of 51.24s to beat favourites Henry Okorie and David Olowookere.

Timothy Emeoghene ran a new Personal Best of 51.24s to win, with Henry Okorie finishing 2nd with a Season’s Best of 51.59s, and Gbenga Bakre running a PB of 52.21s to finish 3rd.

Not long after she had finished 2nd in women’s 400m Final A, Favour Ofili came back to run what should be a new Personal Best of 23.23s to win women’s 200m Final A. In second was Anita Taviore, who also clocked a PB of 23.68s, with Praise Idamadudu coming close for 3rd in 23.69s.

Yinka Bantefa made it a double at the National OpenTrials, beating Aminat Alabi to win with a time of 2:12.87. Alabi finished 2nd in 2:13.81, and Hawawu Haruna 3rd with a time of 2:19.02

Making his first competitive outing in 2019, Austin Nwoye threw an SB of 55.17m to win the men’s Discus event.

Esther Isa, strengthened her place as the best high jumper in the country, but not without having a major scare from teammate & friend, Tope Adesina. They both scaled the height of 1.75m, which is a new PB for Adesina. Clifford Fegor, placed 3rd with 1.55m.

Quatermile veteran, Patience Okon-George won the 400m final in a SB of 52.28s, ahead of new raising star, Favor Ofili who clocked 52.89s. Blessing Ovwighonadjebere, ensured she sealed the 3rd spot in 54.40s. The trio have qualified for the Games in Rabat.

The Women’s Triple Jump Final was won by Blessing Ibrahim with a mark of 13.05m

The Hammer Throw of both the Men’s and Women’s Final were won by Ibrahim Baba who made of mark of 48.69m to win the Men’s event while Quadri Rashidat made a mark of 43.40m to win the Women’s event.

Other results:

Women’s High Jump Final

1. Isa Esther 1.75m
2. Adesina Temitope 1.75m
3. Clifford Fegor 1.55m
4. Peace Ewa 1.45m

Men’s 110mH Final

1. Martins Ogieriakhi 14.48s
2. Okon Samuel Etim 14.51s
3. Utip Wisdom Benjamin 14.65s
4. Musa Great 14.65s
5. Ekporere Prosper 15.58s
Ozor Valentine J. DNS
Osadolor Samuel DNS

Women’s 100m Hurdles

1. Ayemoba Grace 14.16s
2. Adubi Victoria 14.37s
3. Efe Favour 14.53s
4. Kadiri Sarah A. 14.97s
Awusa Eseoghene 15.19s
Women’s 400m Hurdles Final

1. Abu Joy 58.46s
2. Ekanem Comfort 58.75s
3. Akpofa Daisy 58.91s
4. Abasiono Akpan 59.00s
5. Kadiri Sarah A. 60.52s
6. Fegor Clifford 61.02s
7. Sarah Ochigbo 62.15s
8. Ossai Rita Vivian 62.31s

Men’s 400m Hurdles Final

1. Emoghene Timothy 51.24s
2. Henry Okorie 51.59s
3. Bakare Gbenga Busayo 52.21s
4. Mba Romanus 54.02s
5. Olowookere David 54.51s
6. Yusuff Saheed Oluwashinayomi 57.41s
Oyedele Teslim Destiny DNF
Jonathan Innocent DNS

By Uche Dozie