The 2018-2019 football season in Cameroon, will be the first to be played in the form of pools. The 18 league one clubs have been grouped in two pools of nine clubs each, while the 15 clubs in league two will be in two Pools, A and B, with pool A having 8 clubs just while Pool B carries 7 clubs. Many have raised concerns on how the champions will be decided and how teams to be relegated will be determined.

But this Thursday January 24, 2018, during a working session with journalists, that took place at the league’s head office in Yaoundé, officials of the Cameroon professional football league took time to explain how the new football season will be played.

Journalists hold working session with the league’s management body

In the elite one, all the teams will play 16 matches each in the first phase of the championship, at the end of which the first three from each pool (A1, A2, A3 and B1, B2, and B3) will qualify for a play off phase, where matches will be played on home and away basis, at the end of which the team that finish top, is crown league winners, while the second and third pick’s up the other continental tickets. It is worth noting that points accumulated during the first phase of the championship, are not taken into consideration, during the second phase.

The last three teams from each pool, (A7, A8, A9 and B7, B8 and B9), will also meet in a play off, where only the team that finish last, will be relegated to league two. The six teams that finish in the middle of the table (A4, A5, A6 and B4, B5, B6), will be exempted from the second phase.

The same format applies for the elite two championship, where the top three teams after the two phases will be promoted to the elite championship, with one team relegated to the regional league.

So 20 teams will take part in the 2019_2020 season, while four teams will be promoted to the elite two, from the next Interpool, to take the number of league two teams to 16. Other issues raised, is the change in the name of the league from the elite one and elite two, to just league one and league.

It was also revealed that matches in the center region will be played at the Military stadium, Omnisport stadium, and the Annex 1 stadium, while in the South West, the Limbe Omnisport stadium, the Centenary stadium and the Middle Farms stadiums, will serve as playing grounds, just as the Keukong stadium in Bafoussam. Dynamo of Douala has chosen to play their games at the Edea Municipal stadium, just as Racing of Bafoussam, who prefers to host their home games in Foumbot.
Bang Bullet FC of Nkambe initially wanted their home games to be played at the Nkambe Municipal stadium, but later accepted the proposal of the professional football league, to host their home games at the YOSA center in Bamenda. They will now have to share the playing ground with two North West top tier sides, YOSA and PWD.

The 2018_2019 football season kick off on Saturday January 26, 2019, and will round off on Sunday May 26, 2019