Recent pictures from NWFL

By Oyediji Oluwaseun Babatunde
Sports Writer, Nigeria

Nigeria Women Football League, NWFL have been graced by Clubs in time past, some metamorphosed into another, some changed names, and others had a natural or economic cataclysmic death.

In its inquisitiveness which is aimed at looking back to the history of women’s football in Nigeria, with the help of stakeholders in Women’s football in Nigeria compiled a list of Clubs in the 1980s and 1990s.


Ufuoma Babes players in the 1990s

A notable club worth mentioning is Ufuoma Babes of Warri, Delta State. The Club under its Proprietor, Elder Eddington Kuejubola went on to dominate female football in Bendel State and Nigeria in general, winning four female league trophies and three Challenge Cups (FA Cup, now Aiteo Cup) from 1992 to 1996 before it went into extinction. Ufuoma Babes produced the majority of the female football players in the Nigerian Female National team (Super Falcons). In the 1990s, they went on to excel in the CAF African female Nations cup, All African games, FIFA Women’s World Cup, and Olympic games. Notable names were Florence Omagbemi, Mavis Ogun, Patience Avre, Uche Eucharia, Mercy Akide, Omo Love Branch, Nkiru Okieseme, Florence Iweta, Phoebe Ebimienkumo, etc.

Another Club worth mentioning in the 1990s is Pelican Stars of Calabar, Cross Rivers State. The Club is the most successful Club in the country with eight league titles and six FA Cup titles. It recently gained promotion to the top flight alongside Royal Queens of Warri, but recent news of the state owing players backlog of salaries might be the beginning of the end for the Club if the state decides not to rise to the occasion.

Jegede Babes under Princess Bola Jegede also reigned in the 1990s as far as the league is concerned. Princess Bola Jegede contributed immensely to the creation of the women’s league as her Club (Jegede Babes) was one of the Clubs that started the journey in the late 1980s, 1987 to be precise.
Two years later, twenty-eight other clubs were born, inspired by the creation of the Jegede Babes Football Club. Since unity is strength, the owners of each team came together to form the NIFFOA (Nigerian Football Female Organisers Association). The lady representative of the NFA (Nigerian Football Association) did not lose any time in launching the very first inter-club championship organised in Lagos in 1990. It was not the NFA or the NIFFOA which financed this inaugural tournament. Indeed, using her own private money, Princess Bola Jegede sponsored the competition, even supplying the trophy. However, it won the approval of the Nigerian Federation.

Other Women Football Clubs around this time are listed below:


Ufuoma Babes

Kakanfo Queens (PEPSI Tigress Angels)

Golden Star, Lagos

Jegede Babes, Lagos

Rivers Mermaids, Port Harcourt

Onyekachi Angels, Lagos

Liberty Stars, Ibadan

Eleven (11) Planner Angels

Major Keys Lagos

Tin City Queens

Omidiran Babes, Osogbo

Worldwide Angels, Port Harcourt

Vero BIM Queens, Lagos

FSP Obi Babes Osogbo

Oladimeji Tigress, Ilorin

Simbiat Abiola Queens, Abeokuta

Flaming Flamingoes FC

Flying Babes, Lagos

Lionness Stars, Ibadan

Julie Useni Queens, Abuja

Inneh Queens, Benin

Palma lioness, Nsukka

Coal city queens, Enugu.

Garden City Queens

Ajiboso Queens

Police Machine

Benin Striking Queens

Obasogie Queens, Benin

C.N. Okoli

Hamza Queens, Lagos

Air Force

Gorike Queens

Admiralty Queens of Yenagoa

Young Stars of Ajegunle

Tony Anthony cocoa Queens of Akure

Police female machine team of Akure

Akinlalu babes of Owena

Police Machine, Ikeja, Lagos

Yaba Queens, Lagos

Young Talented, Lagos

As earlier stated, some of them changed names to the current Clubs in the Nigeria Women Football League, NWFL while most of the Clubs could not beat the test of time as a result of different reasons.

In order to have full details on these Clubs, will be embarking on a soul searching journey to dig out the reasons why these Clubs no longer exist.

Be sure that we shall bring you more stories about the history of the NWFL as the league marks it’s 30 years anniversary this year (2020).

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written, or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites