By Angu Lesley

Football Writer,

Officials of the Cameroon Volleyball Federation (FECAVOLLEY) have announced their desire to expand the 2020 CAMTEL Open Volleyball Championship finals from six to 12 teams.

The decisions was arrived at on Wednesday, June 17, 2020.

The organizing team has opted to employ to have the games in sub sectors whenever the Corona Virus pandemic allows for such events.

The Federation’s deputy Secretary-general Charles Kamdoum justified the move; “unlike previous editions, the final phase of the national championship will have a higher number of participants. “Because of pandemic, the federation has taken it upon itself to increase the number of teams that will participate in the Camtel volleyball championship Finals 2020. Therefore, the teams have gone from six to 12 in some categories,” he stated.

This move implies that more players will be involved, a big step towards greater exposure of young talents who constitutes the future of the game in Cameroon.

There is genuine evidence that the new move has been accepted by the direct actors.

Coach Emile Tongtong coach of Arc-en-ciel VB of Bafoussam expressed his thoughts to the move;

“This is good news for us. I am particularly happy because we have teams in our sector that have been drafted. We have not resumed training. But, the players work individually according to the programs of the coaches.”

Despite the challenge the Federation is leaving no unturned while waiting for the Coronavirus pandemic to give way for nomalcy to return.

According Fecavolley Communication official the full program is as follows;

Complete list of clubs qualified by sector

Sector I (Far North, North, Adamawa)
Senior men: Association of young volleyball players of Maroua (AJVM)
Senior Women: Garoua Volleyball (GVB), Goudalis (GOU)

Junior Boys: Maroua Volleyball (MVB), Garoua VB (GVB)
Junior Girls: Garoua Volleyball (GVB), Danay VB (DVB)

Cadets Boys: Maroua Volleyball (MVB), Figuil Volleyball (FVB)

Cadets Girls: Garoua Volleyball (GVB) , Danay VB (DVB)

SECTOR II (Center, South, East)

Senior Men: Cameroon Sport Volleyball (CSV), Armed Forces and Police (FAP)

Senior Ladies: Armed Forces and Police (FAP), Nyong Ekelle VB (NEK)

Juniors Boys: Tigaza (TIG), Ebolowa (EVB), Olympic (OVB), Phoenix (PHO)

Juniors Girls: Cameroon Sport Studies (C2S), Conquistadores (CQD), Armed Forces and Police (FAP), Youth (JVB), Club Efoulan Volleyball (CEV)

Cadets Boys: Power volleyball (PVE), Bafia volleyball Evolution (BVE)

Cadet Girls: Conquistadores (CQD), Cameroon sport Studies (C2S), Tigaza (TIG), Bafia Volleyball Evolution (BVE)

SECTOR III (Coastline, Southwest)
Seniors Men: Bafia Volleyball Evolution (BVE), Port Volleyball (PAD)

Senior Ladies: Bafia Volleyball Evolution (BVE), Dauphine Volleyball (DAU)

Junior Boys: Edea Volleyball Club (EVC), Hopes Eseka Volleyball (EEV)

Junior Girls: Antelopes Volleyball (AVB)

Cadet Boys: Edea Volleyball Club (EVC) Eséka Volleyball (EEV)

Junior Girls: Mountain Stars Volleyball (MST), Dynamic Volleyball School (DVS)

Senior Men: New Dynamics (DNV)

Junior Boys: New Dynamics (DNV), Bafang (BFV )

Junior Girls: Nzuimanto (NZV), Bafang (BFV)

Cadet Boys: Bafang (BFV), Rainbow (ACV)

Cadet Girls: Rainbow (ACV), Nzuimanto (NZV)

According to sources the corresponding dates for the fixtures will be made public once the Federation has a clear idea about safety of playing in the pandemic period or after the pandemic.

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites