Super Falcons Class 1995-1999 with Goal keeper Ann Chiejine, Mercy Akide, Florence Omagbemi, Stella Mbachu and other players

By Oyediji Oluwaseun Babatunde
Sports Writer,

Super Falcons of Nigeria is the most successful women national side in Africa in terms of football. The have won all but two (2) African Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) since inception.

This undisputed dominance started in 1991 at the first African Women Championship. looked back at Nigeria’s first three (3) titles on the African continent.

1991 African Women’s Championship:

The 1991 Women’s African Football Championship was the first staging of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) Women’s Championship, the women’s football championship in Africa. It determined CAF ‘s single qualifier for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 1991. Nigeria won the trophy. They defeated Cameroon in the final.

First Round
February 16, 1991

Nigeria 5–1 Ghana
Nigeria kicked off the tournament with a comfortable 5-1 home victory over Black Queens of Ghana at National Stadium, Lagos with an attendance of 55,000 spectators, Super Falcons ensured that the return leg turned to a mere formality.

March 3, 1991

Ghana 1–2 Nigeria

Nigeria also earned a slim 1-2 victory over Ghana in the return leg at Accra Sports Stadium, Accra to seal a 7–2 triumph on aggregate.

Second Round
The second round of the tournament saw another resounding victory on aggregate for Nigeria.

May 4, 1991

Nigeria 3–0 Guinea

Super Falcons defeated Guinea 3-0 in the first leg of their second round fixture at National Stadium, Lagos.

May 19, 1991

Guinea 0–4 Nigeria

In the return leg, Nigeria scored four goals away at Stade du 28 Septembre, Conakry to complete a superb 7–0 aggregate win.

Final Round
June 15, 1991

Nigeria 2–0 Cameroon

In the final round of a tournament marred by walk overs, Nigeria defeated Cameroon 2-0 in the first leg at national stadium in Lagos.

June 30, 1991

Cameroon 0–4 Nigeria

The final round return leg at Stade Ahmadou Ahidjo , Yaoundé with an attendance of 30,000 saw a 0-4 win for Nigeria (6–0 on aggregate) over Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon to book an inaugural World Cup berth.

1995 African Women’s Championship:

The 1995 Women’s African Football Championship was the second staging of
CAF Women’s Championship, the women’s football championship of Africa (CAF ). It determined the CAF’s single qualifier for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 1995 .

Eight nations were scheduled originally to play in the tournament, but two of them withdrew. Six nations competed actively for the right to represent Africa in the World Cup.
The tournament started in 1994 and ended the following year (5 November 1994 – 18 March 1995).

First Round
First Leg

November 6, 1994, Lagos.

Nigeria 9–0 Sierra Leone

Return Leg

November 20, 1994, Sierra Leone.

Sierra Leone 0–2 Nigeria

Nigeria won 11–0 on aggregate.

Super Falcons showed their unassailable dominance over fellow West African neighbours, Sierra Leone with a 11-0 aggregate win in the first round.

Second Round:

January 9, 1995

Ghana 0–3 Nigeria

January 23, 1995, Lagos

Nigeria 2–0 Ghana

Nigeria wins 5–0 on aggregate.

In the second Round, Nigeria repeated the result of the last edition with a 5-0 aggregate win over Black Queens of Ghana without conceding.

Final Round:

March 4, 1995, Ibadan

Nigeria 4–1 South Africa

March 18, 1995, Johannesburg

South Africa 1–7 Nigeria

Nigeria won 11–2 on aggregate.

Super Falcons of Nigeria won their third African title with a 11-2 aggregate victory of Bayana Bayana of South Africa to qualify for 1995 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

1998 African Women’s Championship

The 1998 African Women’s Championship was the third edition of the African Women’s Championship (now known as the Africa Women Cup of Nations), the biennial international
football championship organised by
Confederation of African Football (CAF) for the women’s national teams of Africa. It was held in
Nigeria between 17 October and 31 October 1998.
This edition was first to be held in a single country.

Group A:

As host, Nigeria was drawn in Group A alongside Democratic Republic of Congo (DR Congo), Morocco and Egypt.

On October 17, 1998, Super Falcons kicked off their title defence with a 8-0 victory over Morocco.

Goals from Nkiru Okosieme, Patience Avre, Rita Nwadike, Florence Omagbemi and Mercy Akide sealed victory for Nigeria in Kaduna.

17 October 1998

Nigeria 8–0 Morocco

Okosieme, Avre, Nwadike, Omagbemi, Akide.

Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna.

6-0 victories over DR Congo and Egypt ensured that Nigeria finished top of Group A with 100% record and clean sheet.


27 October 1998

Nigeria 6–0 Cameroon

Another comprehensive 6-0 victory over Cameroon in the semi-final at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium, Kaduna confirmed Nigeria’s third straight final ticket.


31 October 1998

Nigeria 2–0 Ghana
Okosieme, Mbachu

Goals from the tournament highest goal scorer, Nkiru Okosieme and Stella Mbachu made sure that Nigeria grabbed their third straight title at Gateway Stadium, Ijebu Ode with 30,000 spectators.

Nigeria scored eighteen (18) goals in the tournament without conceding any.

This indeed is the foundation of Super Falcons dominance in African football.


All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites