Anchraf Bencharki scores Zamalek’s second at the 57th minute

By Muambo Edward 

Football Writer, – Cameroon


Zamalek of Cairo have claimed a fourth CAF Super Cup trophy after beating Tunisia’s Esperance 3-1 at the Thani Bin Jassim Stadium in Al-Rayann on the outskirts of Doha in Qatar.

Zamalek’s French coach Patrice Carteron led Morocco’s Raja of Casablanca to victory over Esperance last year, he seems to have the keys to unsettle the reigning African Champions League winners.

Despite Esperance having the better of the possession in the first half, Zamalek went into the break with a 1-0 lead.

Youssef Mohamed Fayed headed the White Knights ahead just two minutes into the game to the delight of their thousands of supporters who made the trip to Qatar.

Esperance had a quick second half reaction. A VAR decision judged that Zamalek’s Mahmoud Hamdy had handled the ball in the box to hand Esperance a penalty. The Egyptian defender was booked and Esperance’s Abdelraouf Benguit stepped up and leveled the scores at the 50th minute.

Esperance looked to have gotten back into contest but Moroccan winger Anchraf Bencharki had other plans.

He put Zamalek ahead again at the 57th minute thanks to a fine solo effort that sent their huge followers in the stand into ecstasy for a second time.

Moïne Chaâbani’s men thought they had found a way back into the game again when second half substitute Ali Ben Hamouda headed home from close range only for his effort to be disallowed by South African referee Victor Gomez for a not so clear cut fowl.

Egyptian nerves were eased by the referees call but they were even further relaxed when Bencharki put the game out of the reach of Zamalek with his second of night and the third for the reigning African Confederations Cup Champions, deep into injury time.

Zamalek who had endured a-16-year wait fo Continental club football glory now have two in the bag in the last two years. They have now claimed a fourth Super Cup crown after 1994, 1997 and 2003.

For Esperance, their wait for a Super Cup win continues since they lastly did so in 1995.


Copyright 2020

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites.