Algeria emerged as the champions of the 2019 African Cup of Nations with Baghdad Bounedjah second minute strike was enough to see the Desert Foxes win their second AFCON trophy, first since 1990.

Haven won five (5) of her previous six (6) matches in the tournament and defeating Senegal 1-0 in one of her group games, Algeria went into 2019 final as favourite against Senegal. The Desert Foxes didn’t wait long to actualise the dream of their second AFCON trophy when Baghdad Bounedjah’s shot takes huge deflection and loops in for Algeria to take the lead in the second minute of the game.

Senegal were denied of penalty in the second half after the referee checked via the Video Assistant Referee (VAR). Algeria defended well throughout the game and on the other end their only shot on target resulted in the only goal of the game.

Senegal’s AFCON trophy wait after this latest defeat. They previously lost on penalties to Indomitable Lions of Cameroon in 2002.

Algeria’s only success before today’s triumph came in 1990 after 1-0 victory over the Super Eagles of Nigeria.

Congratulations to the Desert Foxes of Algeria. 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) Champions.

By Oyediji Oluwaseun Babatunde

Twitter @profseunoyediji