After a spectacular victory of foreign athletes in 1990, in mount Cameroon race of hope, local competitors have dominating the competition since then.

The List of foreigners who have registered their names in Golden book of the race is as seen below.

Men’s category

Rev father Walter Stifter -British won” 1976,1977 and 1978.
He is the only man to have won the race three times in a row. the record is still to be broken.

Mike short-British won”1984 and 1985.
He is considered one of the fasted runner in climbing and descending the fako mountain.

Maitland jack-British won” 1988

Pierre Andre Gobert- swiss won”1990

He is the last foreigner to win in the men’s category.

Women’s category

Helen Diamantides- British won”1983.
She is the first woman to win the race when the women’s category was integrated.

Fabiola Rueda- Colombian won”1988

She is the only Colombian to win the race since it inception.

Daily Goldsmith-British won”1990

He is one of the last foreigners to win the race.

Apart from the different years that white competitors won, Cameroonian athletes have confirmed their authorities at home always.

Apart from Cameroon, No African country have emerge winner of the race though Kenya came closer in previous editions.

The race of hope was first broadcast on state Media “CRTV” in 1996.

Since then she has kept doing so, alongside other national and international Media channels

Today online websites have joined the race and your favorite website is present at the race providing the latest updates.

Nkenyi Romeo

Twitter nkenyiromeo