By Oyediji Oluwaseun Babatunde
Sports Writer, Nigeria

Australia and New Zealand will be the first co-host of the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2023. This was confirmed when they were unveiled as co-host of the competition during FIFA Council Meeting held on Thursday, June 25, 2020, via video conferencing.

Australia and New Zealand emerged as co-hosts ahead of Colombia. Both countries have never hosted any senior FIFA World Cups, male and female.

Four bids started the journey to hosting the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup before Colombia and a joint bid from New Zealand/Australia held sway up till the final day of the announcement of the host.
Japan and Brazil withdrew their bids weeks to the announcement.

Since the inauguration edition in 1991, six countries have hosted the past eight editions of the competition with China and the United States of America, USA hosting the tournament twice. China hosted the first edition in 1991 and also hosted the 2007 edition of the tournament.
The USA on the other hand hosted two consecutive tournaments in 1999 and 2003 respectively.

Other host nations of the tournament include Sweden in 1995, Germany in 2011, Canada in 2015, and France in 2019.

The total attendance at the competition has increased over the years from 510,000 in 1991 to 1,131,312 in 2019. This is a testament to the increasing interest in women’s football across the globe and women’s leagues springing up throughout the world.

With four titles, the USA is the most successful nation at the tournament after winning it in 1991, 1999, 2015, and 2019 followed by Germany with two titles in 2003 and 2007. Japan and Norway have won one title each.

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from our management.

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites.