By Uche Dozie 

Sports Writer,

The Moroccan female national team emerged champions of the second edition of the Union of North African Football Federation (UNAF) held in Tunisia.

The tournament which was a single round-robin tournament, had five teams in participation; Tunisia, Morocco, Tanzania, Algeria and Mauritania.

Tunisia emerged winners of the competition on Saturday after amassing twelve points winning all matches played in the process.

The Moroccan female side had defeated Tunisia in the opening game by a goal to nil, pummeled the wiping team of the tournament, Mauritania five goals to nil, defeated tough side Tanzania by three goals to two before beating Algeria on Saturday two goals to nil.

The National Women’s Team of Tanzania “Twiga Stars” finished second place in the tournament after their one all draw against host country, Tunisia.

Tanzania garnered seven points after opening their campaign with a 7-0 whitewash of Mauritania and a 3-2 win over Algeria before losing to Morocco in third match.

Host nation Tunisia leap frog Algeria to third by a point after amassing five points via beating Mauritania 3-0 and drawing against Algeria and Tanzania one all respectively.

Algeria finished fourth with four points after beating Mauritania five goals to nil and a draw against Tunisia.

Mauritania finished the tournament last with no point.

The last time the tournament held (the first of it kind) was in 2009 which was won by Tunisia and hosted by Tunisia.

Three teams; Egypt, Algeria and Tunisia participated that year.

Final Standings
1. Morocco: 12pts (+9)
2. Tanzania: 7pts (+7)
3. Tunisia: 5pts (+4)
4. Algeria: 4pts (0)
5. Mauritania: 0pt(s) (-20)

Copyright © 2020

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites.