By Uche Dozie 

Sports Writer, Nigeria.


Nigeria Rugby team arrived Johannesburg, South Africa for the 2020 Rugby Olympics Qualifiers yesterday after the squad list was released by coach Dele Coker.

The 2019 tournament will be the Black Stallion’s first time.

The team will play defending champions Zimbabwe at 10am South African time or 8am in Nigeria on tomorrow.

According to Rugby, 14 African teams will compete at the Africa Men’s Sevens tournament 2019 for the gold medal to qualify directly for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

”The silver medallist will have another opportunity to qualify for the Olympic Games by competing in a global repêchage tournament that will take place in June 2020.”

As well as providing a route to Tokyo 2020, the Africa Men’s Sevens best two teams will be in the mix for the World Rugby Sevens Series qualifier tournament.

The participating teams are in order of the current ranking: Zimbabwe, Kenya, Uganda, Madagascar, Zambia, Tunisia, Senegal, Morocco, Namibia, Ghana, Botswana, Mauritius, Ivory Coast and Nigeria.

Nigeria final team list for the 2020 Rugby Olympic Qualifier have: Onoru Jatto;Blaise Felix; Nuhu Ibrahim; Declan Nwachukwu; David Oyekanmi; Isaac Agholor; Samuel Ekpo; Joshua Etim; Akpabio Samuel ; Joseph Mogaji; Chinedu Joseph; Azeez Ladipo; Felix Maduchem.


Copyright © 2019

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites.