Kano Pillars becomes the 31 first team to win the Nigeria Federation Cup after a 3-2 win on penalties against Niger Tornadoes.

The match ended 0-0 at full time as the two teams could not get the better of the other.

It was Pillar’s first cup victory in their history as the last Kano team that won the title in 1953 was the Kano Elevens.

The Kano based team had played the last year final but lost after they let a 3-goal lead slip for Rangers, their opponent to win on penalties aftera 3-3 draw at full time.

However, this year the team decided that lightning will not strike twice as they won on penalties in a game that saw the two sides play poor penalties during the shot out.

You may also like:


The Pillar’s team will be rewarded with 25 million naira cash prize for the trophy.

Kano Pillars route to the Aiteo Cup Final

R64: 4-0 Aspire FC
R32: 1-0 ABS FC
R16: 0-0 (4-2p) Kwara United
QF: 4-0 Aklosendi FC
SF: 1-1 (4-2p) Calabar Rovers

Niger Tornadoes route to the Aiteo Cup Final

R64: 3-0 Fasbir FC
R32: 1-0 Gombe United
R16: 2-2 (3-2p) Cynosure FC
QF: 0-0 (5-4p) Smart City
SF: 2-1 Rivers United

By Uche Dozie
Twitter: @uchedozie3