By Uche Dozie 

Sports Writer,

The Nigeria team will play Angola today in the African Handball Championship as they seek to better their last performance of 2018.

The Nigerian team had been in Tunisia to prepare since the beginning of the year to prepare for the competition in Tunis.

As the game starts today, the boys go with the mindset to better their performance of 2028 where they came last and that the captain of the team, Ana’s reinstates while speaking with

He said, “For us as a team, last position is not an option. We have worked so hard from last year till this present moment, most of us in the team have been busy playing for our respective club while others represented the country at the U17 and U21 World Cup.

“I cannot say we are 100% ready, but I can tell you that we are 99% sure of what we could do, cause the team is stronger than I expected this time”.

He further said, “The team is not scared of any opponent. I have a strong conviction that when I enter the court, every iota of fear leaves me and I play to the best of my ability”.

Nigeria gets ready for the Africa Nations Cup holding in Tunisia from Thursday January 16 to 26 2020. The team have played 4 friendly matches losing two and winning two.

In the first friendly, Nigeria lost to Morocco 29-22 while the second ended Nigeria 21-23 against Olympique Sulayman. The team won the last two friendlies beating Cameroon 23-15 and DR Congo 25-21.

Meanwhile, president of the Handball Federation of Nigeria (HFN) Samy Ojonugwa Ocheho is confident that the team is ready to face Africa with the best preparation they got from the federation.

The Nigerian team were placed in group B alongside Angola, Gabon and Libya for the 2020 Men’s African Handball Nations Championship in Tunisia.

Team Nigeria has made eleven appearances out of the twenty-three (23) times that the tournament had been held.

Only three countries have won the tournament. Tunisia, winner of the first edition, has won the title a record ten times. Algeria, with seven titles and Egypt, with six titles, are the only two other teams to have won the competition.

Copyright © 2020

This site is not responsible for the content displayed by external sites.